Posted in Uncategorized, World Building, Writing

Useful Info…

…about NAMES.

600px-hello_my_name_is_sticker-svg

If you’re anything like me, you have no problem when it comes to creating characters and dreaming up worlds. Yet, when it comes to the point where you actually have to write about them, you realise they need names…and that’s when everything comes grinding to a halt.

I tend to know the names of my main characters as soon as they come to life in my imagination, but when I’m trying to decide what to call anyone and anything else, my mind seems to go annoyingly blank.

It’s not something I’d really given much consideration to before I actually started trying to write my first novel, but there can be a lot of different things that need naming. This is especially true if you’re writing a fantasy series and having to start from scratch.

Things such as:

  • Any other character/creature in your story.
  • Countries, kingdoms, nations and dynasties…
  • Planets, galaxies, starships and space ports…
  • Cities, towns, villages, estates…
  • Forests, mountain ranges, rivers and deserts…
  • Bridges, roads, rivers and seas…

These are just the ones I can think of, off the top of my head. Some of them may not be relevant to your current WIP, but I have no doubt there will be more than just your hero and villain who need a name.

There are lots of great resources out there for those of you who, like me, struggle to think of the minutiae when your head is full of the ‘bigger picture’. Here’s a good resource that can get you started:

Fantasy Name Generators. 

They have a lot of different categories for both people and places, and although some are slightly outlandish, there should be something in there that can at least get your creative juices going, if nothing else.

Have a look and see what you think, or let me know if there are any other sites that have worked wonders for you!

Leave a Reply

