Posted in Inspiration

Inspired by…

…Beatrix Potter!

Helen Beatrix Potter: (1866-1943) – Children’s author

Thank goodness I was never sent to school; it would have rubbed off some of the originality.

~ Beatrix Potter

boxsetwithclipthumb

One of my first book sets, and most treasured possessions, was a little box of Beatrix Potter tales, with stories of favourite characters such as Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddle-duck, Tom Kitten, and Squirrel Nutkin.

Some of my earliest bookish memories come from these stories, which helped shape a love of literature that has followed me throughout my life. Even though I was only young, I came to love the characters as though they were friends, and could dive back into their worlds and adventures with the same level of enthusiasm, no matter how many times they’d been visited before.

I treated these books like they were made out of porcelain, handling them carefully, almost reverently, with my tiny 6-year-old hands. I think (hope) that I still have this beautiful box set stored away somewhere in my parents garage, one day to passed on to any kids we may have, in the hope that they too learn to love the written word as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

