Posted in Inspiration

Inspired by…

…Enid Blyton!

Enid Mary Blyton: (1897 – 1968) – Children’s author

The best way to treat obstacles is to use them as stepping stones…laugh at them, tread on them, and let them lead you to something better.

~ Enid Blyton

enid-blyton-boxed-sets-collections-complete-sets

You may remember from my first post (if you’ve read that far back!) that some of my earliest memories of books stem from my parents reading to me at bedtime. Most, if not all, of those books were Enid Blyton’s.

Each evening, my sister and I would get ready for bed without any fuss, knowing that once we were settled one of our parents would come and sit between our beds, and read aloud the next chapter of our current book. It would usually be one of the Famous Five or Secret Seven stories. I can’t speak for my sister, but I loved learning about the latest mishaps, mysteries and misadventures of these fearless children, which often left my imagination buzzing and sleep a distant hope.

As I got older, my mum trusted me with some of her childhood books, and let me read her copies of the Naughtiest Girl and Malory Towers series’. The fact that they were ‘old’ books (sorry mum) were part of the charm – I’ve always had a soft spot for anything that looks like it could be from an age long before my own. I read these books over and over, falling in love time and again with the characters, settings and stories. I hope that someday, someone will feel the same way when they read my stories.

Leave a Reply

