Posted in Inspiration

Inspired by…

…Disney!

Walter Elias Disney: (1901-1966)

All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.

~ Walt Disney

disney

I know it’s probably a little cliché, and massively uncool, to admit that I’m a Disney fan at nearly 30, but I don’t care. Disney movies never failed to entertain me as a child and can still awaken that child-like joy in me today.

I dressed up as one of the 101 Dalmations for fancy dress day at school. One of the few perks of being sick was getting to snuggle up on the couch watching Disney movies. One of my sisters is still ‘sick to the back teeth’ of Peter Pan because of the number of times I made her watch it!

There are so many to chose from but my favourite animated films from childhood include:

  • Peter Pan (obviously)
  • Tarzan
  • The Lion King
  • Jungle Book
  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Robin Hood
  • The Aristocats
  • Hercules
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame

Other favourites that aren’t animated include: Mary Poppins, Bedknobs and Broomsticks, Hocus Pocus, Cool Runnings and James & the Giant Peach.

Obviously there have been equally amazing films brought out this century (Zootopia & Inside Out being two of my personal favourites), but I wanted to give special attention to those that influenced me as a child.

They helped shape my imagination. They taught to me think outside of my own world. They opened my mind to the weird and the wonderful. They taught me to love the outcast, root for the underdog, embrace my own oddities and forgive others’ flaws.

I love Disney. Not the princesses and love stories (they were never my favourites, although I wouldn’t say no to the library in Beauty & the Beast….) – but the struggles, the lessons, and the relatable triumphs over life and self. Things I still look for in movies and books decades later.

One thought on “Inspired by…

Leave a Reply

