Posted in Inspiration

Inspired by…

…Tamora Pierce!

Tamora Pierce (1954) – American Writer of MG/YA Fantasy

Every now and then I like to do as I’m told, just to confuse people.

~Tamora Pierce

circle-of-magic

Tamora Pierce is one of my all time favourite authors. I first stumbled across her books in my high school library, at the tender age of 11. I believe it was the Song of the Lioness series I read first, quickly followed by the Circle of Magic books.

These are stories that I can read time and again, and never get tired of. I love the characters, I love the worlds she creates, I love the adventures and conflicts. I love how her heroines and heroes are flawed, and often stubborn. I love the mix of magic and nature, and am pretty sure it was her work which first inspired my current WIP.

The idea that a girl could do anything a boy could, struck a nerve with me. Previously, stories had always seemed to reinforce gender stereotypes, and as a girl who had been raised surrounded by boys, I struggled to accept this idea. I loved how strong her heroines were – they were warriors! Magicians! Powerful sorceresses who were able to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with their male counterparts! They stood up for what they believed in, they learned from their mistakes, and were not forced to chose between being true to who they were, and falling in love.

If my stories can inspire just one young girl, in the way that Tamora Pierce inspired me, I will consider myself a success.

2 thoughts on “Inspired by…

  1. These inspired me to write, too! I wrote fanfiction of the Song of the Lioness at age ten, before I knew there was such a thing. I can gauge my growing up by which of her books I was reading and how they effected me. It’s awesome to meet someone who’s read them and loves them, too!

    Like

    1. Hi! It’s nice to meet a fellow fan 🙂 That’s amazing that you started writing so young. Her books acted as markers to my adolescence too, and definitely sparked my imagination & passion for creating magic of my own. Thanks for commenting & sharing, I really appreciate it. Good luck with your writing endeavours! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

