Posted in Useful Info

Useful Info…

…about Camp NaNoWriMo!

camp

As mentioned in my previous post, this month I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo.

Camp is brought to you by the hosts of November’s regular NaNoWriMo, which you can find out more about by clicking here.

I’d heard of the November challenge before, but had never been in a position to participate. I only recently found out about the 2 Camps, which run through the Spring/Summer months. You can visit Camp website and see what the fuss is about here.

April is the first Camp. The goals are much more flexible than the regular 50,000 words that November requires. You can set your goal based on the number of hours, pages, lines, and words you mean to complete. This means that people can get involved who are still in the planning stages (like me), or perhaps are done with their drafting, and have moved onto the editing part of the process.

You can create/join a private cabin if you know other campers already, or you get assigned one in March. This can be random, or you can set your preferences to be put with others who have similar interests/goals. Luckily for me I was able to join a cabin with a group of amazing writerly people from one of the Facebook writer groups I’m part of.

In the cabin, you can see each other’s project stats, chat about your writing process, give/receive encouragement and motivation, talk about your ideas, and whatever else you want!

So far I’m enjoying it. It’s been hard, and I’m a little behind due to health stuffs, but I’ve found that by being accountable to Camp, and to my cabin-mates (?), I’m more likely to push myself to do something on my WIP, just so I don’t feel bad when I see how much progress they’re all making!

I’m not sure if you can sign up for this month’s camp, now that we’re a week into it already, but you could still have a look around the site here and sign up for the next camp in Summer! I’ll do an Update post later in the month to hopefully make myself more accountable on here too…. 🙂

In the meantime, happy writing Campers!

Leave a Reply

