Posted in Writing

Camp NaNoWriMo Update…

I can’t believe we’re half way through April already! This month is just flying by…

At the start of the month I decided to do a quick Update post a couple of weeks in, just to add an extra degree of accountability to my Camp experience. 

The 1st week of Camp was great! I hit my targets, I did something every day, I felt focused, positive, and productive.

Then the second week happened. 

It did not go well. At all. In fact, it didn’t really go at all! I didn’t even manage my Friday blog post (apologies). 

I know I’m probably being unecessarily hard on myself for not getting everything done that I wanted to, but I hate it when I lose my mojo. Between hospital appointments and illness, I had no motivation or energy for Wording. I read a quote online that perfectly summed up my week. It went something like: “it takes a lot of braining to make the words go!” I had no braining left.

Thankfully, this week is a new beginning, a fresh start, or blank page (if you pardon the writerly pun). I’m working on shifting my days around so that I can squeeze some words out when I have the time/energy. I’ve altered my expectations, and am focusing on what I can achieve, instead of getting upset about what I can’t. I am trying to rediscover my passion for this project by connecting with my characters.

I hope the rest of you campers out there are doing ok, and achieving your goals. 

Here’s to a productive Week Three! 

Leave a Reply

