Posted in Writing

Update…

…for April and my Camp NaNoWriMo journey!

Camp-2017-Winner

I did it! I completed my first Camp NaNoWriMo! It was harder than I expected, what with Life happening, and I didn’t manage to get everything done that I wanted to. However, I did hit my target of 30 hours, and I am further along with the planning than I was at the start of the month, so I’m happy overall 🙂

I’ve learned a lot about planning over the last month, and the process of writing a book in general. It’s been interesting getting a glimpse into other people’s methods, worries and pitfalls too. It was comforting to realise that I’m not the only one who struggles with motivation, or health, or anxiety and fear. We’re all on this rollercoaster of a journey together, each experiencing the highs and lows of being a writer, and I feel lucky to be part of such a warm, encouraging, and supportive community.

I’ve only been on this journey for 4 months, and I’ve met so many wonderful people, learned more than I could have imagined, and have a much stronger premise for my WIP than I could have ever thought possible. In that time I’ve reached 55 followers here on my Blog (thanks guys!), and am around the 3,000 mark for followers on Twitter! It’s been (and still is) a steep learning curve, but I’m loving it.

For May I want to finish the second half of my synopsis, and use flashcards to plot out the first book in the series properly, focusing specifically on the main plot points, and structure. The hope is that I’ll be ready to start my first draft in June.

Here’s to another productive writing month!

2 thoughts on “Update…

Leave a Reply

