Posted in Planning, Writing

Update…

Can you believe we’re already in June?! May was one of those weird months, you know the kind that seems to take forever at the time, but when you look back it feels like it flew by?

I’ll be honest: May was a bit of a flop on the writing front. Very little happened with my WIP, I fell behind and then off the wagon completely with the Twitter hashtag games I like, and struggled to meet my targets on here for weekly posts.

However, May was not a total loss. I didn’t get round to finishing the second half of my synopsis like I wanted to, but I did start plotting the first book in the series. I’m trying to outline each of the major plot points first, using the 3-Act Structure, and then look at filling in the in-between scenes after.

I also sat down and have planned out achievable (fingers crossed) writing goals from now until next February. They are written down, colour-coded, and pinned to my notice board in an attempt to keep me focused.

My aim for June is to finish plotting and planning book 1, and have a decent enough over-view of the entire series outlined as well (because foreshadowing). Then when Camp NaNoWriMo starts again next month, I will *hopefully* be able to start my first draft. Finally!

That’s the plan anyway šŸ™‚

On top of that, I’m going to try and get back to posting on here a little more regularly, and be around on Twitter more often.

Small steps, I know, but as long as I’m moving forwards, the speed doesn’t really matter at this point.

Hope you all have a productive June, and if you’re interested in taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo next month, have a look at their website here.

4 thoughts on “Update…

  1. I’m still up in the air about Camp, but I probably will be participating if just to get these edits finished.
    Don’t feel too badly about May, any progress is good progress! We’re our worst taskmasters, so don’t forget to take it easy on yourself every once in a while. Our aspirations are achievable, but it’s going to take a lot of patience.
    It’s hard to believe we’re already halfway through June! I hope you’ve been making headway with your plotting. And even if you don’t complete the outlining and planning by June, you can still add that in toward your word count goal for July Camp šŸ™‚ Happy writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you šŸ™‚

      June is going slow, as more things have taken a front seat for now, but some planning progress has been made. So I’m counting that as a win!

      I hope you’re able to get everything done you need to, & good luck with your edits!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad to hear you’re making progress! But priorities are priorities, and sometimes writing has to take less precedence for a time. It’s hard to focus on the imagination when there’s too much stress out there in our personal lives. So take care of you first, it’s the most important part of being a writer!

        And thank you for your encouragement! It’s coming along slowly but surely šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

